Dublin Coffee and Tea Festival

IMG_5901

IMG_5896

IMG_5897

IMG_5905 edited

IMG_5906

IMG_5875

IMG_5874

IMG_5873

IMG_5889

From the 12th until the 14th of September Dublin held its very first Coffee & Tea Festival. The event took place at the RDS where you could find anything from harvesting to brewing and artisan catering to equipment. Over the weekend the festival showcased every aspect of the coffee & tea world and all the fun surround it. Not only you could taste amazing coffee and tea but also delicious doughnuts, cupcakes, cookies,sweets…. I am a coffee lover so when my friend Silvija told me about the event I got very excited about it.
My passion for coffee started when I was very little when I used to come visit my grandparents at the farm. My grandfather used to be a coffee producer, I see coffee as an important part of our family culture. I remember my grandfather talk about different coffee varieties, he was constantly sharing his passion for growing coffee and his experience.
When it comes to growing coffee, it can take around 3 or 4 years for the newly planted coffee trees to begin to bear fruit. The fruit is called “the coffee cherry” and it turns deep red when it’s ripe and ready to be harvested. Once harvested the cherries can be processed by using the dry method. The cherries are spread out on a cement surface where they are raked and turned throughout the day. Then covered at night until the moisture content of the cherries drops, drying the beans and getting them ready for roasting. It is the roasting process that makes the green coffee turn into aromatic brown beans that we purchase. My grandmother used to roast the beans and grind them, she has always made strong delicious coffee. It smelled so good, nothing made more happy than the smell of her coffee. I’ve got to say that this festival brought up wonderful memories!
I was delighted with the Coffee & Tea festival, we should always celebrate the Coffee & Tea Culture and everything they relate to πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

